A person who answers " yes" to any of the 11. Have you ever been acquitted by reason of insanity?
questions below may be prohibited from

12. Have you ever been adjudicated legally incompetent
or mentally incapacitated, or adjudicated an
incapacitated person?

13.  Have you ever been involuntarily admitted to a
facility or involuntarily ordered to outpatient mental —
state or federal law. factity or involun ra nsa c'“nn
14. Have you ever been the subject of a temporary
1. Are you under indictment for a felony offense? detentlon.q order.ar?d subsequently agreed to ,
2. Are you the subject of an active misdemeanor or voluntarily admission for mental health treatment? rn ram
’ felony arrest warrant from any state? 15. Have you been discharged from the Armed Forces
? ; i ?
3. Have you ever been convicted, as an adult, in any under dlshonc.)rab'le dlschelnrge. . N
court of a felony offense? 16. Are you an alien illegally in the United States?
. 17.  Are you a nonimmigrant alien? A nonimmigrant
4. If you are 28 years old or younger, have you ever T . -
been adjudicated delinquent as a juvenile 14 years of alien is prOh'l.)It?d from receiving a ﬁrearm. unlgss he
age or older at the time of offense of a delinquent or she falls‘ v§/|.thm an except.lon FO the nomn.wmlgrant
act, which would be a felony if committed by an allgn prohibition (e.g., hunting license/permit;
adult? waiver). . .
5. Were you adjudicated as a juvenile 14 years of age 18. Are. you a person who, having been‘a. cmze‘n 7Of the
or older at the time of the offense of murder in United States, has renounced your citizenship?
violation of § 18.2-31 or 18.2-32, kidnapping in 19. Have you ever been convicted for the misdemeanor
violation of § 18'2~47 ro—bl:;ery l:;y the tl;':eaf or crime of domestic violence? This includes all
presentation of firearms in violation of § 18.2-58, or misdemeanors that lnv.olve the use, thlfeat of, or
rape in violation of § 18.2-61? (If adjudicated as a attempted use of ph.ysxcal force (e:g., snmp}e assault,
delinquent for these offenses, you must answer yes. assault and battery) if the‘offense is committed by
You are ineligible regardless of your current age and ?ncfuig thzrf;lio\grmgu::g:;iz? :::\fi:iiz ft?rrzer
prohibited for life unless allowed by restoration of F;rson‘\sith wiuomgthe victim shares a ch‘ildyin
rights by the Governor of Virginia and order of the cpommon by a person who is cohabiting with or has
circuit court in the jurisdiction in which you reside.) on, by a p - 8
6. Have you ever been convicted in any court of a COhab.lted with the victim as a spouse, parent or
misdemeanor crime punishable by more than 2 guardian, or by a person similarly snltu.ated toa -
years even if the maximum punishment was not spouse, parent or guardian of the \.”C’flm'
received? 20. Have you pgrc.hased a héndgun Wlthll’.l the past 30
7. lIs there an outstanding protective or restraining days. This will include prx\./at.e transactions. .
. . 21.  Are you a person who, within a 36 month period,
order against you from any court that involves your within the last 5 years, has been convicted under
spouse, a former spouse, an individual with whom Virginia law of 2ymisd;3meanor offenses for
ou share a child in common, or someone you - . .
Zohabited with as an intimate partner? Y Possession of Controlled Substance or Possession of Department of State Police
. X § .. Marijuana? (Handgun Purchases Only) . .
8. :;r:j:errzgaa?nﬁtu ;S;ing g‘f\ Z:;tecgl:f &;;e;;rl?g'z;nfr 22. Have you been convicted as an adult or adjudicated Firearms Transaction Center
- . . as a juvenile of an offense that occurred on or after
involves child abuse or neglect, stalking, sexual : P.O. Box 85608
battery, abuse of a family or household member, or ;UIYHI’ 20?11 of e:\rr;(ljsdemeznor afja;'im f; Patt?rs}/;n a . e e e
acts of violence? formily or household member as defined in & 18.2- Richmond, Virginia 23285-5608
9. Is there an outstanding emergency substantial risk mig;?ny substantially simiiar faw of any other
order or substantial risk order against you issued by 23 )Are you cux.*renﬂy enrolled into the Virginia
any tribunal of another state, the United States or ’ ) A h ne: - A
any of its territories, possessions, or commonwealths Z::g{;;?jr?n[)tﬁeNV();]jiltlal:;/re[;;n;\;;-tls;élf‘:i{ez(i:‘grlist P one: 804 674 2292
or the District of Columbia? ) - . ~ ~
10. Are you an unlawful user of, or addicted to pursuant to Chapter 12 (§ 52-50) of Title 52 is FaX. 804 674 279]

marijuana, or any depressant, stimulant, or narcotic
drug, or any controlled substance? The Federal Gun
Control Act defines an addicted person, or unlawful
user, as a person who has a conviction for use or
possession of a controlled substance within the past
year or persons found through a drug test to use a
controlled substance unlawfully, provided that the
test was administered within the past year.

prohibited from purchasing, possessing, or
transporting a firearm in Virginia.

Email: firearms@vsp.virginia.gov
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If you are denied the purchase or
pawn redemption of a firearm and
do not helieve that you are
prohibited hy state or federal law
from purchasing or possessing a
firearm, you may:

Contact the Firearms Transaction Center
(FTC) at (804) 674-2292 or by E-mail at
firearms@vsp.virginia.gov to discuss the
ineligible determination or to provide
additional information deemed pertinent to
the final determination of eligibility.
Fingerprint comparison may be necessary in
some instances, and may support the issuance
of a Unique Firearms Identification Number,
(UFIN) to facilitate future purchase
approvals.

Exercise your right to institute a civil action
pursuant to Section 9.1-135 of the Code of
Virginia, provided that any such action is
initiated within 30-days of the denial.

Direct your challenge to the accuracy of a
record, in writing, to: FBI, NICS Operations
Center, Criminal Justice Information Services
Division, Attn: Criminal History Analysis
Team 1, BTC 3, 1000 Custer Hollow Road,
Clarksburg, West Virginia 26306.
Electronically submitted appeal requests must
be made through the NICS Appeal Website
at http://www.fbi.gov/nics-appeals.

This process of appeal is authorized by

28 Code of Federal Regulations 25.10.

You may ohtain a copy of your
Virginia criminal history record by

completion of a Criminal History
Record Request Form SP-161.

This form can be viewed,
downloaded and/or printed by
visiting the Virginia State Police

website’s “Forms" page.
This form is also available by calling
or writing the following:

Virginia State Police,
Criminal Justice Information
Services Division,

Central Criminal Records Exchange,

Post Office Box C-85076,
Richmond, VA 23261-5076.

The completed form may be mailed to
the above address or presented in
person during regular business hours
to:

Virginia State Police
Administrative Headquarters,
7700 Midlothian Turnpike,
Richmond, Virginia.

You may request correction of your
Virginia criminal record if the record is
found to be in error, pursuant to
Section 9.1-132, Code of Virginia,
provided that any such action is
initiated within 30-days of the denial.

To request a copy of your criminal
record from a state other than Virginia,
you must communicate directly with
that state authority for receipt, update,
Or correction purposes.

Virginia Restorations:

One who is convicted of a felony automatically loses his
or her firearm rights under state and federal law. If you
have been convicted of a felony as described in Section
18.2-308.2 of the Code of Virginia, you may still be eligible
to purchase a firearm if your rights have been restored
under both state and federal law as follows:

If your rights were restored PRIOR TO January 1, 2021:
It is your responsibility to provide evidence of the
restoration of rights to the state police.

If your rights were restored ON or AFTER JANUARY 1,
2021: Effective January 1, 2021, restoration of firearms
rights completed in accordance with Section 18.2-
308.2(c) Code of Virginia requires the clerk of the
circuit court to forward to the Central Criminal Records
Exchange (CCRE) a copy of the firearm restoration
order and a complete set of the petitioner’s fingerprints
in order for the criminal history to be updated to
reflect such restoration.

You have been pardoned or have had your political
disabilities removed pursuant to Article V, Section 12 of the
Constitution of Virginia, and if the executive order does not
place any conditions upon the reinstatement of your right to
ship, transport, possess or receive firearms. OR

You have been granted permission by the Circuit Court of the
jurisdiction in which you reside to possess or carry a firearm
(with no restrictions on the type of firearm) and one of the
following: you have had all other political rights restored
by the Governor, or, you have had your federal disabilities
removed by the Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms, and
Explosives. OR

You have had your political rights restored by the Governor
of Virginia or the Governor of the State in which you were
convicted and one of the following: the reinstatement of
rights included the right to ship, transport, possess or receive
firearms, or you have had your firearms rights restored by
the Virginia Circuit Court in the jurisdiction in which you
reside, or you have had your federal disabilities removed by
the Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms, and Explosives.

THE ABOVE DOES NOT APPLY IF YOUR CONVICTION
OCCURRED IN A FEDERAL COURT. UNDER FEDERAL
LAW, A STATE COURT DOES NOT HAVE THE
AUTHORITY TO REMOVE FIREARM DISABILITIES
IMPOSED BY A FEDERAL COURT.




